Satire, Scottish Football, Sevco

Alex McLeish Didn’t Want To Be Luke Skywalker

Alex McLeish
Alex didn’t want to be in Episodes VII, VIII or IX either…

Good Evening.

Here is some surprising ‘news’…

>>>>>

I Didn’t Want To Be Luke Skywalker Anyway, Claims Alex McLeish

The 58-year-old says he had ‘doubts’ about taking the role because ‘it would have made me too iconic a figure’.

By A. Sith-Lord

Alex McLeish has claimed he didn’t want the role of Luke Skywalker – despite throwing his hat into the ring for the role back in the mid-1970s.

The 58-year-old was interviewed for the role which ultimately went to Mark Hamill.

 

McLeish , who shot to local childhood stardom with his flawless impersonation of Shirley Temple singing ‘On The Good Ship Lollipop’, says he had ‘doubts’ and ‘reservations’ about taking what would become one of the most iconic parts in modern cinema and the hero of a massive cultural phenomenon. He insists that he wasn’t even ‘close’ to accepting the role because of the awful prospect of earning an enormous amount of money, and the absolute nightmare of having a legion of adoring fans.

Speaking at some random event which we are supposed to be promoting, the former stunt double for the shark in Jaws said: “I wasn’t close. I had doubts about it. I did speak to George Lucas and I said that if he was to come back and offer me to it, I would like to speak further.

“It was a very casual chat. It wasn’t what I would call an interview, it was meeting some filmmaker and seeing where he was going with his next project

“They say don’t risk ending up becoming very rich and being worshipped by millions, and that was in my mind, but he asked to speak to me and it was worth listening to what he had to say.

“But I believe Mark Hamill was probably uppermost in his mind even at that time.

“I was never 100 per cent, ‘yes, I am going to be the hero in Star Wars’.

“I wouldn’t have just walked straight into a lucrative life-changing role like that without some further talks.

“It was totally different to when I first went for an acting job spinning my head around 180 degrees in the Exorcist but lost out because I couldn’t also projectile vomit on demand. It just wasn’t for me at that stage of my career.

“I felt that there was a lot that was likely to go with Star Wars as well, in terms of the other side of the actual acting.

“There is a lot of money and popularity – and all those wee action figures – and I didn’t know if I needed it at that stage of my life. I think I was better off hanging on to get an EBT from Rangers. Now that really was out-of-this-world stuff.”

Alex McLeish will be appearing in pantomime (or ‘the Sky Sports studio’ as it is also known) in the near future.

>>>>>

Of course, Luke Skywalker isn’t the only role that McLeish says he wasn’t interested in getting…

I didn’t want Rangers* job anyway claims Alex McLeish

Hmmm….

#KeepOnClumping

img_8008