Media, Sevco

No Questions For Warbo

Good Evening. [And please ‘vote Clumpany’ on Twitter and the FBA website!]

Apparently Jim Traynor and Mark Warburton went out for a meal after this afternoon’s highly successful Sevco press conference. The Clumpany has seen a hastily-written transcript of their conversation, which may actually be entirely fictional and satirical: 😉


JT: “Well I thought that went well, Mark”

MW: “Did it, Jim?”

JT: “Yes. We showed them. Asking questions – repeatedly – about Joey Barton. We stopped them in their tracks”.

MW: “I thought I was doing OK, Jim. I was just going to keep saying ‘no comment’ until they asked about something else. It seemed the respectful thing to do”.

JT: “Mark. Listen to me. We can’t have the press asking questions that we’ve forbidden”.

MW: “But it was fine, Jim…”

JT: “No it wasn’t Mark. And that’s an end to it. They won’t mess us around next time”.

MW: “But…” 

JT: “ENOUGH! Now, where’s the waiter? Ah, here he is…”

Waiter [to JT]: “What can I get you to drink, Sir?”

JT: “I’ll have a large mineral water please. Sparkling. Like my copy used to be!”.

Waiter [to MW]: “And what would you like Sir?”

JT: “Don’t ask him that question!”

Waiter [to JT]: “I beg your pardon, Sir?”

JT: “You heard. Don’t ask him that question”.

Waiter [to JT]: “Very well, Sir. Would you like to order your food now?”

JT: “No. We will take a few minutes to think, thank you”.

Waiter [to JT]: “Very well Sir. I can recommend the la…”

JT: “Stop right there! I’ve heard that so-called ‘joke’ every single time I have been in a restaurant since I wrote that article…”

Waiter [to MW]: “Are you sure I can’t get you anything, Sir”.

JT: “Did you not hear what I said? No questions!”

Waiter [to JT]: “As you wish”.

[*Waiter wanders off*]

JT: “That told him!”

MW: “I’m thirsty. Jim”.

JT: “I’ll let you have some of my water, Mark”.

MW: “But…”

JT: “Be quiet and look at the menu”.

[*Several minutes silently pass…*]

[*Waiter returns with mineral water*]

Waiter [to JT]: “There you go Sir. One mineral water. Now, can I take your order please?”

JT: “Yes, I’ll have the tomato soup, followed by the steak. Well done. Just like my copy always used to be!”

Waiter [to MW]: “And what would you like, Sir?”.

JT [*Exasperated*]: “Not this again! No questions please! He’s not going to answer you”.

MW: “I don’t mind, Jim”

JT: “Shush! Let me deal with the communications.”

Waiter [to JT]: “Sir, please! What would your respectful friend like to eat.”

JT: “Why are you asking me that?”

Waiter [to JT]: “So you can ask your friend what he would like to eat, and then I can ask the kitchen to prepare it for him”

JT: “Oh, it’s like that is it?! You want to get around my clear instructions by asking me to ask Mr Warburton some questions! Do I look like I was born yesterday?” 

Waiter [*Desparingly to JT*]: “Sir, please. I just want you both to have a nice meal, and for that I need to ask what you would like to eat”

JT: “Ask?! There you go again! More questions. Can you just get on with bringing our order please?”

Waiter [to JT]: “But your friend…?”

JT: “Any more of this and we will leave”

Waiter [to JT]: “Very well Sir”.

[*Waiter heads to kitchens*]

[*A long silence ensues while JT drinks his water*]

MW: “I’m hungry, Jim…”

JT: “And it looks like you might stay that way, Mark. We can’t have these folk thinking they can just ask you any old questions.”

MW: “And I am thirsty, Jim”.

JT [*Looks at empty glass and shakes his head*]: “Will you please stop grumbling, Mark? I bring you to a nice restaurant and all you can do is complain! Now, try and enjoy yourself”.

[*A lengthy silence ensues*]

MW: “You know, I WOULD have just kept saying ‘no comment’ this afternoon”.

JT: “Oh not this again. Look Mark, it’s done. Let it go. The press have been put in their place and we have a nice meal to look forward to”.

MW:I don’t. Have you got any Polos? I fancy something Minty.”

JT: “Are you taking the p*ss out of me?”.

MW: “No. I’m just hungry. And thirsty”.

JT: “Look. Here comes the waiter with my soup”

Waiter [to JT]: “One soup Sir…”

JT: “Thank you very much. Mmmm, this is very nice. You’d love it Mark.”

MW [*Forlornly*]: “Would I Jim? Would I?”

Waiter [to MW, enthusiastically]: “Yes you would Sir. YES. YOU. WOULD. I will get you some. And I didn’t even have to ask you a question, did I?!”

JT [*Stands up, looking annoyed, and steps towards the waiter*]: “Say that again, son. The last bit”

Waiter [*Squeakily*]: “I didn’t even have to ask you a question…”

JT: “Go on…”

Waiter: “Did… I…?”

JT: “Exactly! That was your final question. You were warned. We are leaving. Come on Mark. Mark! Now!”

MW [*Grabbing a bread roll from a nearby table as he follows JT out*]: “But I was going to say ‘no comment’, Jim! And I am hungry. And thirsty. Jim! Jim! Come back Jim!”


Should The Clumpany hear any more about Jim and Mark’s alleged culinary adventures, I will be sure to let you know.


NB The Clumpany has somehow made it through to the final of the Football Blogging Awards 2016, in the ‘Best New Blog’ catgegory! Many thanks for all your votes so far.

All votes cast in the first round have been rolled over to the final, but you can (and should!) vote again in the following ways:

  • Completing the form on the FBA website by clicking here and selecting ‘The Clumpany’ from the appropriate drop-down menu.
  • On twitter, by clicking here.

You can cast a vote on BOTH Twitter and the website. Voting concludes on 28 October with the winners announced on 17 November 2016.

Many thanks for your support!

One thought on “No Questions For Warbo

Comments are closed.