Media, Scottish Football, Sevco, SPFL

Can YOU Hear Sevco Sing?

Good Afternoon.

I really enjoyed this classic piece of upbeat page-filling fodder from the Evening Shark-Jump this morning.

Rangers striker Michael O’Halloran can’t wait to experience the Ibrox roar

It’s the kind of utterly vacuous exercise in Sevconian-soothing of which The Clumpany NEVER tires! Because although it is about as hard-hitting as a bowl of jelly and ice cream inexplicably left over from 2012, it unwittingly raises an issue of substance.

Get your cliché bingo cards ready!

O’Halloran said: “I have played in three away games so obviously I am looking forward to it. It will be totally different to Alloa and Queen of the South.

I have played [at Ibrox] before, the atmosphere is brilliant, the fans get right behind the team and it is great. That is the kind of atmosphere and stadium you want to play in. I am really looking forward to it.

Obviously playing in front of 2000 or 3000 at St Johnstone is going to be different to playing in front of 45,000 or 50,000 at Ibrox. I have played in front of crowds like that before so I am used to it. It will be good to play more regularly in front of that crowd.

That is what everyone as a young kid strives to do. You want to be in those big atmospheres. I went to watch the Kilmarnock game in the Scottish Cup, because I am cup-tied. I went and sampled it then and saw what it was all about and it was brilliant.

I have not really had a chance to look around [the stadium]. When I went in it was the game and we were preparing. I am sure at some point I will have a wander round and look at the trophy room. That will be good.”

Brilliant atmosphere! 50,000 crowds! The trophies (borrowed from the late Rangers FC, naturally)! You can imagine the Evening Shark-Jump’s Finest doing a mini-fist pump at the end of each paragraph as it was written.

Sadly history doesn’t record whether O’Halloran is looking forward to hearing a rousing chorus of ‘The Billy Boys’ at Ibrox as part of that “brilliant” atmosphere. But maybe he will wear wellies and earplugs just in case folk are minded to wade through Fenian Blood?

Perhaps the Evening Shark-Jump will ask him about his views should that song – or the equally atmospheric ‘Famine Song’ –  get an airing at any point?  Like so many media outlets in Scotland, they are very big on reporting the appreciation of their fellow men expressed by some of the Ibrox faithful.

I shall look out for any updates.


NB Don’t forget you can vote for the World’s Favourite ‘Liquidation Lie’ in The Clumpany’s epic contest – which has now reached the Quarter-Final stage – by following this link!